Cloudy Kyoto

I didn’t sleep much. I’m too old for this. Since I’m not staying in the same room, I “check out” which is removing my stuff and the sheets. I find no evidence of bugs so I say nothing about it.

I need to get out.

There’s no plan really today. I walk through an area I’ve never been through to get to a temple that looked neat. I wonder if the leaves have improved?

Untitled

The river here in under construction. The streets I’m on are not great for pedestrians. I find my way soon enough to the temple. The leaves have not improved. I continue on with no destination in mind. At least it’s not raining today.

UntitledUntitled Untitled

I look in at a pottery shop. They offer short classes to make a bowl or cup but I think they shy away from tourists. I’m feeling rather shy myself. I don’t inquire and they don’t acknowledge me anyway. There’s pottery next door and the owner knows English. She tells me her family makes the items. They’re out of my price range.

IMG_0179 IMG_0180

I’m restless. I realize that my time in Japan will be ending soon and there’s still the area around Tokyo that I want to visit. A little panic arises at the lack of time and of the end of a moment… With December creeping closer and with it my last destination, my little adventure will be over. I’ll be going home soon enough. It’s strange. In the beginning it feels like such a long time before I would see home again but it’s not.

I push those thoughts away. I should focus on now. I make note to plan out the remaining days in Japan. I’ll be in Tokyo soon I’m sure.

I walk through neighborhoods and temples I know nothing of. Not really tourist hot spots at least not for westerners. At one point I walk through a school campus.

Untitled UntitledUntitled UntitledUntitled UntitledUntitled Untitled

There’s a ramen section that the hostel told me about. It’s too early as most of the ramen shops are still closed.

I end up in a section up hill. I come across a cute shop.

UntitledUntitledUntitled UntitledUntitled UntitledUntitled

At the end of it all, I eat an early dinner at the ramen place from yesterday.

I’m tired. I have a new bed. I look up buses and trains to Tokyo and it does not look good. I’ll worry about that tomorrow. Good night.

Leave a Reply

