Sake

I could take a train further south but opt to walk as I’ve never been pass Fushimi Inari. It’s cloudy but not the rain kind. It’s shaping up to be a wonderful day.

Untitled

As I mentioned yesterday, it’s a residential area where tourists don’t have much reason to visit. I stop in a Family Mart for the usual. As I eat outside, I gleefully notice the torii gate down the street. It’s not a surprise to find another shrine. I probably passed three already.

Untitled

On my way to the Sake District, where my host told me about the museum. I figure getting sake from a 1600s brewery will be a great gift.

As I approach, there’s a small festival going on. I have no idea the occasion and wonder if this is what the flyer was stating, that a woman was trying to hand me earlier. There’s a mascot and live music. I’m definitely coming back for food.

Untitled

I’m near the sake museum, I guess. It’s the right area but I come across this narrow canal and there’s a path… You know I love these roads, paths. I must follow.

So here’s the detour– I follow it along the canal. There’s more than one way to go and I loop around somehow back toward the festival.

Untitled UntitledUntitled UntitledUntitled UntitledUntitled Untitled

Since I’m here, why not eat?

Untitled

After almost burning my mouth, I reach the Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum. There’s a tour group that arrived as well and I try to go ahead before getting stuck with them. It’s a self guided tour with some translations.

While reading the descriptions, I’m engulfed by the tour group. One man knows some English and starts a conversation. Awesome.

UntitledUntitled Untitled

This stop is showcasing the water, which not only makes for great sake but the nearby canal allowed the brewery to thrive with easy exporting. Of course, I sample. Sake samples are at the end when you can appreciate it.

Untitled

Here’s some barrels for the sake brewing process.

UntitledUntitled Untitled

A banned sake advertisement and Babe Ruth.

Untitled Untitled

Stamps for the barrels

Untitled Untitled

The courtyard

Untitled Untitled

Then there’s the sampling of sake which I have no photos of. The entrance fee includes a tiny bottle of sake and I bought the special edition vintage bottle to take home. The bottle is really heavy so it’s annoying to carry now and more of a challenge to carry with me for another month.

A short walk along the canal, shows the back of the breweries. You can also take a boat ride too.

Untitled IMG_0073

Back above on the street, a school band is playing music. It’s good and then they start playing Under the Sea. It’s unexpected and I’m amused. A procession starts. I really lucked out today.

Untitled

I start walking back to home. This bottle is too heavy and I need to know where I’m sleeping tomorrow. There’s a shopping arcade where I pick up dinner. It’s kind of like the deli section where a bunch of food is already made. I select a meal to eat in my room. It’s all about the tonkatsu. Half my diet is ramen and tonkatsu. 🙂

After dinner, I don’t feel like being inside. Restless. I don’t want to take a train anywhere… I don’t have anywhere in mind to go and besides most sites will be closing. Instead I head toward an old favorite; it’s the closest place around, Fushimi Inari.

IMG_0080IMG_0079

I walk as far as the old billboard sign to take in the view. The moon is out for awhile till the clouds hide it again. There are no lights in this spot so I’m hidden in the dark. Restless still. It’s getting late. Walking around Fushimi at night is less creepy this time. I stop at a vending machine for a drink. It starts to drizzle. I put my headphones on and slowly walk back. Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

