Over the Mountain & Through the Woods

I really want to be in a hostel two nights in a row so I can finally sleep in. Today is not that day. The sun is out and I’m eyeing a smaller mountain– Kitayama. The internet tells me there are two towns connected with a trail. I’m on way to Kurama where I’ll walk to Kibune.

Look who greets me at the train station.

IMG_9968

Kurama seems to be a one road town with the usual shops leading up to a temple, Kurama-dera. There’s onsen, too, but I didn’t realize the trail started at the temple.

Kurama-dera is a sprawling temple complex with a lot of stairs. This shouldn’t bother me as much as it does; I’m an expert stair climber at this point. There’s a sign for a lift but it’s under maintenance, not that I need it.

IMG_9969

I take a break to eat one of the snacks I brought– sushi. It’s one of my better breakfasts.

IMG_9971IMG_9972 IMG_9974

Flowers are in bloom… It’s autumn, isn’t it?

The temple is littered with tiny shrines and sacred nature spots. A couple giant trees and a fountain for instance.

IMG_9975 IMG_9976IMG_9979

With all these lanterns, it must be pretty cool to walk here at night.

IMG_9980IMG_9981 IMG_9982

It’s also a hot spot for school field trips and adorable matching hats.

IMG_9983 IMG_9986

Not sure what this is about… A story about the temple inhabitants?

Untitled

The real adventure begins here. The sign has pictures of wild things to watch out for, the usual wasps and snakes.

IMG_9987

I talked with this guy for a bit and rang the bell unintentionally loud like the American I am. It was obscene.

IMG_9988

Naturally on the trail, it can’t be only a dirt path with trees. There’s shrines of course. Somewhere around this temple they host a Fire Festival, Kurama Hi Matsuri. I’m too late for cool events. This is also where the traffic starts.

IMG_9989IMG_9991 IMG_9994

As the trail levels out and descends the mountain, I’m hoping I won’t have to walk back up this mountain. There must be a way to get back to Kyoto from Kibune.

Out of the woods, you run into the babbling brook and the onsen that line it.

IMG_9995 IMG_9997

It’s at this point that I take my 9,999th photo with my camera. That’s some RPG level junk. The camera now has to start over, reusing numbers. That’ll be fun organizing my Japan photos. 🙂

Anyway, I’m going backwards here. Instead of entering the shrine, I follow the stream to the end, the end of the shrine called Okunomiya. It’s believed that a goddess traveled by boat from Osaka to this spot.

IMG_0004 IMG_0005

It’s time for lunch. I buy a hot drink and find a nice spot near the stream to eat my sandwich (katsu onigirazu?).

Untitled

IMG_0006
in warmer months, they server meals at tables setup in the stream

IMG_0007

Okay, now for the beginning of Kibune Shrine. The Shrine is for the god of water and is also a protector of those at sea.

IMG_9996IMG_0010 IMG_0012IMG_0014 IMG_0020

That’s it for Kibune! In my wanderings, I found a map that shows a bus leading to the train station. The station isn’t far so I walk there instead. A few other folk have the same idea. It’s a nice day after all.

IMG_0022

The train arrives soon after I get there and this is what I find at the transfer point. Must be the fire festival.

Untitled

It’s still light out so I go walking, maybe find some food. Not surprising, I end up in a bakery. I love bakeries.

Untitled

I spotted this building and thought it didn’t fit in with Kyoto’s decor.

Untitled

I continue downstream. I’ve never been along the river this far north. I wish cities back home put this much planning near rivers instead of building houses that flood.

IMG_0031 IMG_0034IMG_0035 IMG_0036

Yet again, it’s another backpack pick up and another hostel to check in to. There’s also talk of rain and I’m without an umbrella since I left mine behind at the onsen a few days ago. The department stores are still open. I pick out a cute one and walk through the kimono section, squealing with delight.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

