Break Time

Two days of back to back temples… I’m done. I sleep in late and eat breakfast at the last moment. Swimming and maybe some shopping is the plan.

Of course there’s other plans that need to be sorted. It’s obvious at this point that I’m no longer entertaining the idea of hopping on a bus to Phnom Penh. I extend my stay here at the hotel. I book my next flight to Osaka. A slight panic rises as now there is a finite time in Cambodia and how to make the best of it. There’s also excitement over returning to Japan and being able to drink tap water. Yes, tap water. It’s the little things in life.

I calculate the price of train tickets versus a rail pass. Train tickets are cheaper especially if I take the overnight bus to Tokyo and I won’t have to worry about time limits. With that settled I don’t have to worry about anything. Actually, there’s one more worry– where am I sleeping in Osaka? Now that I have my flight and need a place I realize that it’s not that easy. There’s a 50/50 shot of getting on the last train into downtown but unfortunately most hostels and even hotels do not have 24 hour receptionist. I frown at this but will worry about it later. Pool time!

Here’s some pictures of the hotel:

2015-10-25 09.33.24
Front Entrance

2015-10-24 11.28.32 HDR2015-10-24 12.07.25

After hanging out by the pool, I take a shower and snack. The welcome fruit basket is never ending– a dozen tiny bananas. I read something about bike rentals here so I inquire about. I’m delighted that it’s already included.

Now the tricky part is crossing the highway to be on the correct side of the road. I’m not the only one crossing so that helps. I read about a store that sells handmade items so I make my way over. It had rained moments ago, scaring all the tourist I imagine.

The shop, Angkor Handicraft Association, has small stands selling items made by nearby villagers. I wanted to buy some pottery but where to put them once home and how to get them there? I bought a scarf because they’re so many pretty ones. I’m ignoring the fact that I have a ton of them at home.

I leave the shop and head to downtown for dinner.

2015-10-23 17.14.522015-10-23 17.49.09.jpg

Leave a Reply

